My Lilly Pulitzer for Target Jumper (that almost wasn’t)

You must be thinking, is this girl serious? Is she really writing a blog post about her almost near miss of the Lilly Pulitzer for target collection? And yes. I am dead serious. I am writing a post about it. For someone who loves fashion I can hardly believe that I didn’t set a reminder for this when my girlfriend told me who this designer was. (Thanks Jessica!)

You see, to be really honest, I didn’t even know who this was before a few weeks ago. I had a client ask me for items that looked similar to Lilly Pulitzer prints and I had to call said friend, Jessica (one of my most fashion forward girlfriends) who told me that Lily Pulitzer is a resort brand that is super popular in the south. (And if you have read the news lately Target was overran by not only women in the south, but…well everyone in the US Sunday morning. My city included)

Anyway,  I stumble into target early morning Monday morning (the day AFTER the Epic Launch) and see a rack of beautifully printed pieces almost stripped down to the bare tee-stand. There was nothing on it but this green jumper and a few other pieces. So I check the tag, I look around AND OMG, its that brand my friend told me about! I quickly ran about the store in search of the nearest attendant to find out what I missed. Apparently I missed a lot, fashionably speaking. They said they ran out of mostly everything within minutes and the items I did see on the rack were the only pieces left.

WHAT!

I went into a panic. There is something about having something that no one else has, that drives me absolutely i-n-s-a-n-e. Even if I don’t want it that bad, I still have to have it. Call me a bandwagon jumper! I like to call it…an obsession with clothing.

After a few hours of searching and heavy bribery for my children to cooperate, I was able to snag a jumper, a beach tote and some flip flops! But it could have been bad. I could have missed this launch all together and I would be forced to go on ebay and pay a ridiculous price (which I wouldn’t) for these items that cost me less then $100. I may or may not have checked the two other stores in my city, and I may or may not have called around to see if they had ANYTHING in my size. (And everywhere was sold out if you were wondering.)

When Missoni for Target launched a few years ago my husband thought I was nuts searching everywhere for a coveted $20 scarf.  Was I nuts? Maybe. I told him I was being sensible because that same scarf could cost me upwards of $100 if I bought it at a regular place. And he agreed and let me search. I should have just learned my lesson to mark my calendar then.IMG_0020

Mark your calendar when Target Launches these special promos friends. That way you don’t end up scouring the Earth and navigating you way through other disappointed female shoppers in search for the hottest item, like me.

XO-Mimi

And PS: The Jumper is amazing, might not look like much on the hanger…but it really is fabulous.

 

 

One thought on “My Lilly Pulitzer for Target Jumper (that almost wasn’t)

  1. Jessica says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t Mark my calendar either!! Isn’t it the best feeling when you do look long and hard and are able to find some pieces?? Split that V, dot that I, spell that C-T-O-RY!!!

    Like

Leave a comment