Splurge Vs. Save: Investment Pieces

Today on Splurge Vs. Save: My top five things you should absolutely invest in when shopping.

1. Bags: I’mIMG_0031 not talking about a 1,000 + bag (although those are freaking amazing and if you got it flaunt that shit). But I’m talking about a real, leather, or well made purse. Nothing is better then that. Really. They last a long time, and boost the overall look you are wanting to achieve.

2. Athletic Shoes: A good running shoe can be the difference between well, running and just not. running…Truth: I’ve never, ever, been into running. But I got these great (expensive) Nikes and I’ll tell you what I wanted to show those bad boys off. So after a few trips into conditioning land I’m the proud owner of several good pairs of running shoes and have gone from no way to a 5k. Without getting scientific, the way shoes are built help to support the arch of the feet..yada, yada and can really improve your overall workout.

3. Heels: Now that I’m in my thirties I no longer have the need to go clubbing and prance around in crazy ass heels. (Literally, I have no idea what i was thinking back then). And now, p-r-a-c-t-c-a-l-i-t-y tells me every time to ditch the bad pumps and trade them in for some good ones. Because of this, I’m longer aching to take my shoes off after date night, but I want to extend my after hour “partying” because my feet don’t hurt. (And to a parent like me, after hours is like 10:00. Seriously. Maybe 10:30.)

4. Foundation: Nothing says fabulous like having great skin. I alway, always, splurge on foundation and skin care. You want to put your best face forward, and nothing says awkward more then a foundation that doesn’t match your skin tone or doesn’t compliment your skin type.

IMG_00035. Jeans: Now, I used to be, the cheaper the better on this. But, I’m short and my legs are curvier.   So finding jeans can be a pretty difficult task sometimes. But no longer do I gasp at a $100 price tag when it comes to denim because this gal (finally) found a pair that worked and made my legs look great, they don’t look like tightly wrapped vienna sausages anymore! So spending a little more in this area will help your look, and the jeans will last much longer through several washes!

I Hope this helps!

XO-Mimi

Leave a comment