Why I Charge So Much To Do Your Makeup

IMG_0004

Over my ten years experience both working at a (very busy) cosmetics counter and as a freelance artist on my own time I’ve heard a number of funny things. But my favorite expression to hear when I tell clients my rates for a Makeup application is, “Wow, that’s expensive!”. (Often times followed by a funny look and/or head shaking in confusion.) I mean, yes, it is expensive. But like any service, beauty or otherwise, good work isn’t free. So today, I wanted to break down some of the reasons why Artists “charge so much”…

1. Product costs a TON: I own a lot of great makeup. With the exception of only a few products (see my previous post Splurge Vs. Save) NOTHING is ever purchased from a drug store. One foundation alone can cost me in the ball park from $35-60, depending on what the client wants.  If I have multiple clients with many different foundation shades…that is a whole lot of foundation I will need in my kit and whole lot of money for me to fork out. So basically, a portion of what I charge goes to the actual purchase of future product.

2. Locality matters: An Artist who lives or works out of or in a larger city will often times charge what the going rate is for freelance artistry in that area. The cost of living is often times higher in larger cities, therefore the cost of makeup application will be too. Prices are higher for most businesses, homes and gas prices too in larger cities, so it shouldn’t be different for artists either.

3. Time: A good, basic, makeup application will take 30-45 minutes depending on the amount of work a client wants. (Then add that plus 6 bridesmaids at 6AM, just saying) But what the client doesn’t see is the amount of prep time it takes to do such applications. I have to prepare my kit with colors they want, sanitize lipsticks, liners, and wash brushes. For one client this can take fifteen minutes, for 5 clients this can take an hour.

4. Experience: A client pays for a certain level of professionalism and experience when they hire a freelance artist. Typically makeup artists who freelance are familiar with lighting, and makeup wear. They know what will work for a photo shoot versus a wedding without even blinking.  The rate the artist charges is typically a reflection of the amount of experience they have.

For example, when I was a beginner in the Makeup world I would take whatever clients I could for free just for experiences sake, so I could build my skills and my portfolio. But as I matured as an artists, and began doing more shows, photo shoots and weddings my rates increased to reflect my experience.

5. Travel: This does not always apply. Some artists tack this charge on separately, or the rate of travel is already included in the cost. But as you all know, gas is expensive! The added benefit of hiring a freelance artist is that they come to you, so you are paying for the convenience of the service as well as a portion of their gas money

Moral of the story, you get what you pay for! Makeup artists need to make money too, and telling them that they charge too much won’t change their rate. Be kind to them. They have feelings too you know.

-Mimi

Leave a comment